

Agenda for SSFH Annual General Meeting, Tuesday 29th June 2021 1.20 p.m.

Agenda

1. Apologies

Jack Rhoden, Jackie Clarke, Will Pooley, Munro Price

2. In attendance

Ludivine Broch, David Andress, Alison Carrol, Claire Eldridge, Daniel Gordon, David Hopkin, David K Smith, Andrew WM Smith Jessica Wardhaugh, Joseph Clarke, Julian Wright, Karine Varley, Máire Cross, Penny Roberts, Sara Barker, Tom Hamilton, Valentina Cralli, Will Clement

3. Minutes of previous AGM

The meeting approved the minutes.

4. Matters arising & Chair comments

President Dave Andress updated the meeting on:

- Our successful online Douglas Johnson lecture in January with Prof Mike Broers
- The confirmation of Prof Penny Roberts as our next Annual Douglas Johnson Lecture speaker
- Ongoing relationships with Institut Francais and need to maintain these relationships as COVID recovery continues

 ECR COVID support fund which had been well received and made a number of awards in the first call.

5. Election of new President

David Andress introduced the Committee and Trustee nomination for President, Professor Penny Roberts. Penny Roberts addressed the meeting, thanking Prof David Andress for his work during his term as President. She highlighted his work in helping to encourage the Society's work on Equality, Diversion and Inclusion. Penny Roberts thanked officers who were continuing in post and helping the transition.

Re-election of Officers

DA introduced officers and asked for meeting's endorsement of their continuing service.

7. Approval of Accounts

Karine Varley introduced the accounts to the meeting. The meeting approved the accounts.

8. Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Alison Carrol introduced work the Society might undertake (including in the Journal, the MUP book series, and its events), building on the recent RHS reports on equality in the field. She invited the meeting to get involved in these discussion and welcomed expressions of interest, introducing the working group on the topic formed at the committee meeting. Alison Carrol also introduced the 'Inclusive Pedagogy' series recently commissioned on the French History Network blog and invited further submissions in this series.

9. Suggestions for New Activities

David Andress introduced the efforts of Jack Rhoden to liaise with the ASMCF on schools outreach work.

Claire Eldridge invited the meeting to feel welcome to suggest any other events or partnerships with which the society could engage.

10. Officer Reports

Claire Eldridge introduced the Events Officer report, thanking the conference team Ludivine Broch, Itay Lotem and Conference Bursar Elena Rizzi. In addition, she thanked H-France for their support and collaboration throughout the planning and the conference. David Andress introduced the report from the Membership and Comms Officer Jack Rhoden, including updates on membership and recent promotional activities.

Andrew Smith introduced the Secretary's report.

David Andress introduced the Treasurer's Report.

Julian Wright introduced the report from the Journal Editors. Joseph Clarke noted that Stewart McCain would be expanding the format of the Reviews section in the Journal and invited the meeting to monitor and engage with this work. Julian Wright noted that he was standing down and he would be working with OUP to draw up job specifications so that the Society could advertise for his successor, to be handed over in August, before transferring in the new year. David Andress and Joseph Clarke thanked Julian Wright for his valued and longstanding work for the Journal as Editor.

Máire Cross updated the meeting on the Society's MUP series, 'Studies in French & Francophone History' and its successful collaboration with the French Colonial History Society. Máire talked about the importance of ensuring rigorous and broad recruitment processes when the time comes to transfer editorial duties.

David Andress introduced Will Pooley's Web Editor report.

11. Announcement of Prize winners

2020 Undergraduate Dissertation Prize: Sara Green (Leeds) for a dissertation entitled 'The Touareg in the French Ethnographic imaginaire' 2020 French History Article Prize: Oliver Cussen (Chicago) for an article entitled 'The lives of merchant capital: the frères Monneron and the legacy of old regime empire' 2020 Ralph Gibson Bursary Awards: Louis Pulford (Lancaster), Shyam Sridar (Oxford), Susanna Kingwill (Courtauld), Emma Kavanagh (Oxford)

12. Any Other Business

Andrew Smith thanked David Andress for his term as President.