SSFH Header

The Steering Committee of the Society for the Study of French History


The committee runs the day-to-day affairs of the society and frequently responds to requests and proposals from other organisations and individuals. Recent work of this kind includes providing views on archival policy and preservation; lodging concerns with libraries and archives over archive closures and acquisitions policy; lobbying funding councils (the AHRC in particular). The committee meets twice a year, once in January and once at the annual conference. Its membership consists of the trustees, the officers and committee members, including postgraduate representatives. Elections of officers and committee members take place at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). Officers serve for three years (dates of election/re-election are indicated below, as appropriate). In accordance with the Society's constitution, forthcoming vacancies are announced three weeks before the AGM. Nominations for vacant positions may be forwarded to the secretary, with an indication of the proposer and seconder of the application concerned.

Trustees:
The trustees oversee the finances of the society, including the Ralph Gibson Fund. They also adjudicate in the competitions for the Postgraduate Research Grants, conference grants and conference bursaries, and also in the case of applications for the Overseas Scholarships award. They consult on matters of strategic importance to the society.

Current Trustees:
There are currently ten Trustees:- Professor Joe Bergin, University of Manchester (Joe.Bergin@manchester.ac.uk); Professor Malcolm Crook, Keele University (m.h.crook@keele.ac.uk); Professor Mark Greengrass, University of Sheffield (m.greengrass@sheffield.ac.uk); Professor Daniel Power, Swansea University (d.j.power@swansea.ac.uk); Professor Máire Cross, Newcastle University (m.f.cross@ncl.ac.uk); Professor Penny Roberts, University of Warwick (penny.roberts@warwick.ac.uk); and Professor David Andress, University of Portsmouth (david.andress@port.ac.uk); Dr Noelle Plack, Newman University, Birmingham (n.plack@newman.ac.uk); Professor Munro Price, University of Bradford (mprice2@bradford.ac.uk); Dr. Jackie Clarke, University of Glasgow (Jackie.Clarke@glasgow.ac.uk).

Officers:

The Chair: chairs the committee meetings and the Annual General Meeting of the society (which is held during the conference); corresponds with outside bodies on behalf of the society.Current Chair: Professor David Andress, University of Portsmouth, david.andress@port.ac.uk  [2017]

Secretary: organises the committee meetings and the AGM; acts as a conduit between committee members; publicises and processes applications for the Postgraduate Research Grants and the Conference Bursaries; assists the chair in the correspondence with other organisations; ex-officio, on the editorial board of French History. Current Secretary: Dr Andrew W M Smith, University of Chichester (a.smith@chi.ac.uk) [2015]

Treasurer: manages the society's finances; reports to the AGM and the committee on the financial state of the society; collects membership subscriptions; sends out the funds awarded to successful applicants for the grants and conference bursaries. Current Treasurer: Dr Karine Varley (Karine.Varley@strath.ac.uk) [2015]

Membership Secretary: maintains the membership lists; produces the distribution list for the French Historian; receives and processes applications for membership and helps to advertise the society and its activities. Current Membership Secretary: Dr Claire Eldridge, University of Leeds (C.Eldridge@leeds.ac.uk) [2014]

Conference Officer: advises the annual conference organizer; reports to the committee on the performance of the most recent conference, on progress for the next one and finds venues and organizers for future conferences; liaises with funding bodies and other organizations over sponsorship and support. Current Conference Officer: VACANT [2017]

Editor of French History: manages the journal; reports to the committee on progress in terms of copy, content, publication schedule, subscriptions and future plans. Current Editor: Professor Julian Wright (julian.wright@northumbria.ac.uk) Current Co-Editor of French History: Professor Penny Roberts (penny.roberts@warwick.ac.uk)

Society News Editor: gathers and collates copy for the membership newsletter in the society journal, French History. Current Society News Editor: Dr Jessica Wardhaugh, University of Warwick J.Wardhaugh@warwick.ac.uk)

Reviews Editor of French History: manages the solicitation and production of book reviews for the journal; reports to the committee on flow of books for review and receipt of copy. Current Reviews Editor: Dr Tim Baycroft, University of Sheffield (t.baycroft@sheffield.ac.uk)

Editor of the Website and Social Media Officer: manages the website, liaising in particular with the Editor of The SSFH Newsletter, the Secretary and the Annual Conference Organiser; manages a range of social media used by the Society, including Twitter and Facebook, liaising with the Secretary. Current Website Editor: Dr William Pooley (Bristol) (William.Pooley@bristol.ac.uk) [2015]

All-Ireland Liaison Officer: acts as the principal point of contact for the Society on the island of Ireland with ordinary Society members and Irish historical bodies and academic institutions. Current Ireland Representative: Dr Joseph Clark, Trinity College Dublin (joseph.clarke@tcd.ie) [2008]

Committee Members: attend committee meetings; discuss proposals made by the trustees and the officers; consult on day-to-day issues as they arise.


Current Committee Members (in addition to the officers of the Society, as above): Dr David Hopkin, Hertford College, University of Oxford (david.hopkin@hertford.ox.ac.uk) [2012]; Professor Glenn Richardson, St Mary's University (glenn.richardson@stmarys.ac.uk) [2016]; Dr Laure Humbert, University of Manchester (laure.humbert@manchester.ac.uk) [2016].

Postgraduate Members: represent the views of postgraduates to the committee. Current Postgraduate Members: Will Clement, Oxford University (william.clement@history.ox.ac.uk) [2015]; Anais Pedron, Queen Mary University of London (a.c.pedron@qmul.ac.uk) [2016]; Samuel Wilkinson, University of Nottingham (Samuel.Wilkinson@nottingham.ac.uk)[2016].


SSFH Logo

SSFH Committee, July 2014

--

Independent Panels are convened to adjudicate the Society’s Ralph Gibson Postgraduate Bursary award and also the undergraduate Essay Prize.

--

Dissertation Prize Committee

Convenor:- Dr Noelle Plack (Newman), Dr Laure Humbert (Manchester), Prof. Glenn Richardson (St Mary's).

--

The Ralph Gibson Award

Convenor:- Dr Sandy Wilkinson (UCD), Dr David Hopkin (Oxford) and Professor Kevin Passmore (Cardiff)






 

Site Map

Follow SSFH on Twitter          SSFH Facebook         © 2012 The Society for the Study of French History. All Rights Reserved.